I had the unfortunate circumstance of having to evict one of my tenants.

Yes, it does happen to even experienced real estate investors :-)
The good news is that this is my first one in 5 years! Not too shabby, but I hated it either way. It's just not my nature to do such things.

Anyway, while I was there a couple of things transpired that I thought was interesting and applied to real estate investing- especially to newbies.

Here's what happened: Many of the defendant/tenants didn't show up- including my tenants.

And this is what the Judge said: "Personal Service- they had every right and opportunity to be here but they CHOSE not to do so".

Hmm. They had the right and opportunity but didn't do anything.
They didn't even give themselves a fighting chance.

On the flip side I saw a little lady (with a little coaching from me hee hee hee) stand up to the attorney of a major bank who was evicting her out of her own home after what I felt was a wrongful foreclosure.
Guess what? She won! She bought herself a stay and a fighting chance.

So guys which ones are we?

Are we the ones who didn't even give real estate investing a chance. Perhaps just taking classes and never really even getting out there and making mistakes, making offers, and trying to get at least one small deal done?

Or are we like that little lady who with a little coaching, beat the odds by showing up and just DOING Something?

Remember, you don't have to hit a homerun every time. Give yourselves a fighting chance. Do something each day to bring you closer to that first deal.

You can do it.

I've seen it happen with my own eyes

Your friend,

Dennis
12/21/2010 03:03:58 pm

I don't wanna say goodbye for the summer.

Reply



Leave a Reply.